Oberheim OB-1 – Knobs smashed (and fixed)!

I have a near mint Oberheim OB-1.Super nice synth!

OB1 and TTSH

While it was waiting to get moved down into the “synth cave”, I had it standing on its side in a hallway. It felt safe, it was clearly visible and there was a smallish pillar/corner that offered some protection. Or so I thought.

One day a co-worker walked by a bit too close and it went BAAAAAMMM – falling and landing upside down on its front panel. F**K!

But this synth is built like a tank – the only things that broke were the small plastic ‘caps’ on top of 4 or 5 of the knobs.

broken_knobs  taken_apart

Now. With a semi-rare synth from 1978 I do not expect finding replacements would be easy. I checked the usual channels (ebay, syntaur etc) but came up empty handed.

I also looked into alternatives like plastic caps for furniture.

But then my fav Facebook group Vintage Synths Repair and Mods came to the rescue:

FBhelp

And yep. Farnell had these exact knob caps in stock – almost 40 years later. Style never goes out of style?

I ordered a ‘full set’: 20 black and 10 gray. In case they looked slightly different from the originals, I wanted to replace them all. But it turned out they looked identical!

new_caps_in_place

All well that ends well.

Next up for this Obie is probably to replace the PSU as it currently is 110V. Maybe a little cap refresh. And MAYBE add MIDI.. Not sure if I want to since this is a very mint machine.

5 thoughts on “Oberheim OB-1 – Knobs smashed (and fixed)!

  1. Hello…I have an OB-1 that I’ve had since buying it brand new in ’78 or ’79. Within the 1st year I sent it back to Oberheim for repair because it would go haywire. That was under warranty. The term they used was “recalibrating”. Since then I’ve had it in storage. I recently hooked it up to an amp and nothing happened not even a crackle nor burp. The fuse is fine. The cirquit boards look ok. The keyboard itself looks good but I don’t have the money to repair it and want to sell it. What is your opinion and what would you do in my shoes? By the way, I have no knowledge of how to work on it. Thank you for your consideration. David.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How do you reattach the knobs to the bender board?

    It took a lot of force to pull them off which was needed since I decided to swap out all the trimmers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

